GW Hoops

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

10/13/2019 5:26 pm  #1

Street & Smith's GW/A-10 Preview

I got a copy of Street & Smith's NBA and NCAA Preview, they pick GW to finish 12th. Most of the write-up focuses on Jamion Christian, not much on the players. They mentioned that GW's most experienced players do not necessarily fit J.Christian's "Mayhem" system that emphasizes three-point shooting and pressure defense. Also, Toro had 3 double-doubles in the 7 games he played last year before the hip injury, and he can be one of the better big men in the league if he's healthy. Amir Harris' name is listed on the roster as a sophomore, I don't believe they include names of players redshirting. so maybe they know or think he'll be eligible this year. 

As for the rest of the conference/GW opponents, Three NCAA bids seem doable with 3 very strong teams in VCU, Dayton and Davidson. Dayton's Obi Toppin was the first freshman to be named first-team All-A10 in two decades. Of his 201 field goals, 83 were dunks. Harvard's incoming 5-man, freshman class ranks 34th nationally(two 4-star and three 3-star recruits), VCU is ranked 49th. Wichita State(40) is the only other mid-major/non-BCS school that is ranked among the top 50 incoming recruiting classes. VCU PG Nah'Shon Hyland(75) and UMASS C Tre Mitchell(78) are the 2 highest rated incoming freshman 

PROJECTED FINISH:
1. VCU
2. Dayton
3. Davidson
4. Rhode Island
5. St. Bonaventure
6. Richmond
7. Duquesne
8. St. Louis
9. La Salle
10. George Mason
11. Fordham
12. GW
13. UMass
14. St. Joe's

ALL CONFERENCE
Jon Axel Gudmundson, 6-5 G - Davidson
Obi Toppin, 6-9 F - Dayton
Kellan Grady, 6-5 G - Davidson
Marcus Evans, 6-2 G - VCU
Cyril Langevine, 6-8 F - Rhode Island

ALL NEWCOMER
Antwan Walker, 6-9 F - Rhode Island  SOPH (transfer from Georgetown, he attended HD Woodson in D.C.)
Blake Francis, 6-0 G - Richmond   JR (transfer from Wagner, averaged 17.3PPG and hit 102 three's as a SOPH)